Skip to content

Designed For Life & Travel

Luxembourg – where Europe celebrates diversity

LOOKBOOK WINTER COLLECTION 2021

People from 170 nations live in “D’Stad”, Luxembourger’s name for their capital city. A co-existence that’s open to the world. The city is diversified in a natural way. It’s multicultural and creative, colourful and full of variety. A town where every spot has stories to tell.

A TIP: PUT ON HEADPHONES to enjoy this LOOKBOOK ACOUSTICALLY as well:)

Luxembourg City has already been the European Capital of Culture twice. Now this honour is going to the small country in the heart of our continent for the third time. Esch-sur-Alzette, a community only 30 km away from “D’Stad”, bears the title in 2022. For those who love diversity, going to Luxembourg is a must. This petite nation with its vibrant centres is the perfect spot for presenting the new Winter Collection from KATHARINA HOVMAN.

BONNEWEG

THE GRAACE HOTEL

The Graace – an inner-city oasis. Just step inside and all the noise and hectic are instantly forgotten. The thick stone walls of the former factory won’t allow anything to disrupt this feeling of well-being: “We are good hands here.”

Maili, our hair & makeup artist from Strasbourg, roams through the hotel and shows us its loveliest nooks and crannies. Like everywhere in Luxembourg: steel plays a special role in the architecture. Yet natural and sustainable materials are what breathe its “soul” into this boutique hotel. They create the perfect balance between old and new, and make the time spent at this location memorable.

Carlo and Priscilla got to know each other on our photo tour of Naples. Simply a good team, these two. In the hotel’s own Bedouin tent they seem like a pair of cosmopolitans just passing through. Laid back, easy-going. The perfect surroundings for KATHARINA HOVMAN Design for Life and Travel.

A FLORAL STUDIO ON THE ROOF

The spiral stairway in the hotel courtyard leads straight to INFIIORATA’s floral studio beneath the clouds. The young Luxembourger with the unusual name is a florist. She is reinterpreting traditional floristry with her objects composed of seasonal blossoms and grasses. In our fuchsia-coloured POLKA BLOUSE she sets a gorgeous accent in the midst of all her flowers.

Maili is delighted by this urban rooftop garden where the plants grow in chests. Behind my camera it occurs to me just how true the mantra from KATHARINA HOVMAN is: Dressed-up or dressed-down – Maili’s outfit in the colour code BALSAMICO can be worn with no fuss in the daytime, and elegantly in the evening.

Grund, Clausen and Pfaffenthal

DOWN BELOW IN GRUND

Completely different from elegant Oberstadt with its many representative buildings, the nearly hamlet-like lower neighbourhoods of Grund, Clausen and Pfaffenthal where people already lived in the days of yore range along the banks of the Alzette. Above all craftsmen settled down here. They used the river’s water to practise their professions.

Upper and lower, ancient and ultramodern architecture – it’s the contrasts that make this city so intriguing. What’s more, at 30 % of Luxembourg’s population the Portuguese percentage makes a refreshing contribution to the lively diversity – and we run into steel everywhere. Steel made its mark on the history of Luxembourg City and remains a characterising element of the town to this day.

Contrasting is a way to describe the effect of Monica’s soap-bubble game, too. Gentle, swaying motions in front of the hard, frigid steel wall. Allegorical for this city. This woman from Luxembourg with Brazilian roots personally embodies the contradictory facets. As an independent director she is in the coolly unemotional world of global commerce at home, writes poetry and runs her own exclusive yoga studio in Grund.

VINS FINS

THE LOVELIEST TERRACE

It’s not about the look. Not about any special location, either – it’s about an attitude towards life. On the terrace of Fins & Vins, Priscilla, Monica and Sabine enjoy the lightheartedness at this one-of-a-kind spot. The best aperitif rendezvous in town! Maybe it has something to do with Francoise, too. The owner of this small, comfy-cosy wine bar is a typical Luxembourger – uncomplicated and extremely hospitable. Cosmopolitan-style sincere. Like nearly everyone in this city.

LIMPERTSBERG

THE CHICHE! IS A HIT!

We meet up with Marianne Donven at CHICHE!. This Luxembourger devotes all her strength and energy to integrating people who had to flee their homelands. CHICHE! is one of the three “social” restaurants run by Marianne Donven. The work and cooking here are performed exclusively by refugees. It’s a major success. No table without a reservation. The atmosphere in CHICHE! fascinates us. Vintage in its purest form. From the glass to the sofa – nearly everything’s donated. A motley mix, plain yet eye-catching. Just like the gold-coloured KATHARINA HOVMAN blouse that Marianne Donven wears today.

LUXEMBURG STADT

AT THE GRAND THÉÂTRE

The grand theatre – not only a special place every time the curtain rises. The foyer on the first floor always offers an outstanding performance. Suffused with light, its 100 windows give it a magical effect the way they fit together like a mosaic. Our models Priscilla and Carlo turn into veritable actresses at this location.

In the theatre’s ballet hall we meet up with Cathy Krier, a highly promising concert pianist and professor for piano at the Conservatoire de la Ville de Luxembourg. Barefoot, all in black with black & white charming unfolding double collar and cuffs, she enchants us with her playing and shows: the classic KATHARINA HOVMAN style fits well on the world’s stages, too.

KIRCHBERG

GLAS, STEEL & GOLD

The business quarter of Luxembourg City as financial metropolis. But it’s been a long time since only banks graced the Kirchberg heights. The European Court of Justice, the European Court of Auditors and the entire administration of the EU Parliament are also located here. Diverse institutes of higher education and the gleaming white Philharmonie are equally at home on the Kirchberg plateau.

The same applies to the new corporate headquarters of KPMG, a global business consultancy, with its rusted-looking, easily remembered steel construction built by François Valentiny. We receive the privilege there to be welcome in the building’s golden atrium.

The MUDAM is just around the corner. Here lovers of contemporary art get their money's worth. Brilliant, the Musée d’Art Moderne, MUDAM for short. Its spacious rooms full of light are inspiring.

Esch-sur-Alzette

THE BLAST FURNACES OF BELVAL

Belval to the west of Esch-sur-Alzette was once Luxembourg’s largest steelworks. Many of the old industrial buildings have been integrated into the newly designed living environment. A tourism highlight: the two remaining blast furnaces. Anyone who climbs up the 180 steps at Blast Furnace A is rewarded with a breathtaking view. Nowadays Belval is an “in” university district. Priscilla, Carlo and Monica bring life into a surroundings that often seem almost artificial. The three of them in the cool colour code BLACK/FLOUR in front of a red wall. In my mind’s eye I reword the title from a well-known TV series: “Katharina’s Angels”.

LUXEMBOURG

PHILINES TRAVEL TIPS

GRAACE HOTEL – Design Boutique Hotel, Bonneweg

INFIIORATA Florist, Instagram/Infiiorata – contemporary flower and plant installations

CHICHE! – Social Restaurant, Limpertsberg

PANORAMA AUFZUG, Pfaffenthal

VINS FINS – WINE BAR & SHOP, Grund

GRAND THÉÂTRE, Luxembourg Stadt

MUDAM – Museum for Contemporary Art, Kirchberg

CATHY KRIER, Pianist

CREDITS: PHOTOGRAPHY: Philine von Sell, STYLING: Finja Brügmann, HAIR & MAKE UP
ARTIST: Maili Ngyuen, PRODUCTION: Circle of Values Communication GmbH

English

Weiter zum Inhalt

DESIGNED FOR LIFE & TRAVEL

LUXEMBURG – WO EUROPA DIE VIELFALT FEIERT

LOOKBOOK WINTER COLLECTION 2021

Menschen aus 170 Nationen leben in D’Stad, wie Luxemburger ihre Hauptstadt nennen. Ein weltoffenes Miteinander. Diese Stadt ist auf natürliche Weise divers. Sie ist multikulturell und kreativ, bunt und vielfältig. Eine Stadt, die an jedem Ort Geschichten erzählt.

EIN TIPP: KOPFHÖRER AUFSETZEN und den TON AKTIVIEREN, um dieses LOOKBOOK auch AKUSTISCH zu genießen:)

Bereits zwei Mal war Luxemburg Kulturhauptstadt Europas. Jetzt geht diese Auszeichnung zum dritten Mal in das kleine Land im Herzen unseres Kontinents. 2022 trägt das nur 30 km von D’Stad entfernte Esch-sur-Alzette diesen Ehrentitel. Wer die Vielfalt liebt, muss nach Luxemburg.

Dieses kleine Land mit seinen lebendigen Zentren ist der perfekte Platz für die neue HERBST/WINTERKOLLEKTION von KATHARINA HOVMAN.

BONNEWEG

DAS GRAACE HOTEL

Das Graace – eine Oase mitten in der Stadt. Man tritt ein und sofort sind Lärm und Hektik vergessen. Die dicken Steinwände der ehemaligen Fabrik lassen nicht zu, dass irgend etwas dieses wohlige Gefühl stört: „Hier sind wir gut aufgehoben.“

Maili, unsere Hair & Make-Up Artist aus Straßburg streift durchs Hotel und zeigt uns seine schönsten Ecken. Wie überall in Luxemburg: Stahl spielt eine spezielle Rolle in der Architektur. Aber natürliche und nachhaltige Materialien hauchen dem Boutiquehotel seine Seele ein. Sie schaffen die perfekte Balance zwischen Alt und Neu und machen die Zeit an diesem Ort unvergesslich.

Carlotta und Priscilla waren schon auf unserer Fototour durch Neapel ein gutes Gespann. Im hoteleigenen Beduinenzelt wirken sie wie Kosmopoliten auf der Durchreise. Lässig. Die perfekte Umgebung für KATHARINA HOVMAN Design for Life and Travel.

EIN BLUMEN-ATELIER AUF DEM DACH

Die runde Stahltreppe im Innenhof des Hotels führt geradewegs ins florale Atelier von INFIIORATA unter den Wolken. Die junge Luxemburgerin mit dem außergewöhnlichen Namen ist Floristin. Mit ihren Objekten aus saisonalen Blumen und Gräsern interpretiert sie die traditionelle Floristik neu. In unserer fuchsiafarbenen POLKA BLOUSE setzt sie selbst zwischen all ihren Blüten einen schönen Akzent.  

Maili ist begeistert von diesem urbanen Dachgarten, wo die Pflanzen in Kisten wachsen. Hinter meiner Kamera denke ich, wie wahr das Mantra von KATHARINA HOVMAN doch ist: Dressed-up or dressed-down – Mailis Outfit im Colour Code BALSAMICO lässt sich unkompliziert am Tag und elegant am Abend tragen.

Grund, Clausen und Pfaffenthal

UNTEN IN GRUND

Ganz anders als die elegante Oberstadt mit seinen zahlreichen repräsentativen Gebäuden erstreckt sich am Ufer der Alzette sich die fast dörflichen Unterstädte Grund, Clausen und Pfaffenthal, die bereits in frühen Zeiten bewohnt waren. Vor allem Handwerker, die das Wasser des Flusses nutzten, um ihren Beruf zu betreiben, siedelten sich hier an.

Oben und unten, alte und topmoderne Architektur – es sind die Gegensätze, die diese Stadt so spannend machen. Zudem tragen die Portugiesen, mit 30 % der Luxemburger Bevölkerung, erfrischend zur lebendigen Vielseitigkeit bei – und auf Stahl stoßen wir überall. Stahl hat die Geschichte Luxemburgs geprägt und ist bis heute ein charakterisierendes Element dieser Stadt.

Gegensätzlich wirkt auch das Seifenblasenspiel von Monica. Weiche, schwingende Bewegungen vor der harten, kühlen Stahlwand. Ein Sinnbild für diese Stadt. Die Luxemburgerin mit brasilianischer Herkunft verkörpert selbst das Gegensätzliche. Als Independent Director ist sie in der kühlen globalen Wirtschaftswelt zuhause, schreibt Gedichte und betreibt ihr eigenes exklusives Yoga-Studio in Grund.

VINS FINS

DIE SCHÖNSTE TERRASSE

Es geht nicht um Optik. Auch nicht um eine besondere Lage – es geht um Lebensgefühl. Auf der Terrasse des Fins & Vins genießen Priscilla, Monica und Sabine die Leichtigkeit an diesem einzigartigen Ort. Der beste Aperitivo-Treff der Stadt! Vielleicht liegt’s auch an Francoise. Der Besitzer der kleinen, gemütlichen Weinbar ist ein typischer Luxemburger – unkompliziert und extrem gastfreundlich. Kosmopolitisch herzlich. Wie fast alle Menschen in dieser Stadt.

LIMPERTSBERG

Das CHICHE! IST EIN HIT!

Im CHICHE! treffen wir Marianne Donven. Die Luxemburgerin widmet ihre Kraft und Energie der Integration von Menschen, die aus ihrer Heimat fliehen mussten. Das CHICHE! ist eines der drei sozialen Restaurants, die Marianne Donven betreibt. Hier arbeiten und kochen ausschließlich Geflüchtete. Mit großem Erfolg. Tischreservierung ist unbedingt nötig. Uns gefällt die Atmosphäre im CHICHE!. Vintage in Reinkultur. Vom Glas bis zum Sofa – vieles gespendet. Ein bunter Mix, so schlicht wie auffallend. Wie die goldfarbene KATHARINA HOVMAN Bluse, die Marianne Donven an diesem Tag trägt.

LUXEMBURG STADT

IM GRAND THÉÂTRE

Das Grand Théâtre – nicht nur dann ein besonderer Ort, wenn sich der Vorhang hebt. Das Foyer im ersten Stock bietet immer eine herausragende Vorstellung. Lichtdurchflutet wirkt es magisch mit seinen 100 Fenstern, die sich wie ein Mosaik ineinanderfügen. In dieser Location werden Priscilla und Carlotta selbst zu Darstellerinnen.

Im Ballettsaal des Theaters treffen wir auf Cathy Krier, vielversprechende Konzertpianistin und Professorin für Klavier am Conservatoire de la Ville de Luxembourg. Barfuß, ganz in Schwarz mit schwarz-weißen Blätterkragen und -manschetten verzaubert sie uns mit ihrem Klavierspiel und zeigt: der klassische KATHARINA HOVMAN Style passt auch auf die Bühnen dieser Welt.

KIRCHBERG

Glas, Stahl & GOLD

Das Businessviertel der Finanzmetropole Luxemburg. Doch auf dem Kirchberg gibt es längst nicht nur Banken. Hier befinden sich auch der Europäische Gerichtshof, der Europäische Rechnungshof sowie die gesamte Verwaltung des EU-Parlaments. Diverse Hochschulen und die strahlend weiße Philharmonie sind ebenfalls auf dem Kirchberg Plateau zu Hause.

So auch der neue Firmensitz der Wirtschaftsberatung KPMG, mit seiner rostig anmutende, einprägsame Stahlkonstruktion von François Valentiny erbaut. Dort haben wir das Privileg, in deren goldenem Lichthof willkommen zu sein.

Quasi um die Ecke findet man das MUDAM. Hier kommen Liebhaber für zeitgenössischer Kunst auf ihre Kosten. Fulminant, das Musée d’Art Moderne, kurz MUDAM. Seine großzügigen und lichtdurchfluteten Räume inspirieren uns alle.

Esch-sur-Alzette

Die Hochöfen in Belval

Belval im Westen von Esch-sur-Alzette war einst Luxemburgs größte Stahlhütte. Viele der alten Industriegebäude hat man in den neu gestalteten Lebensraum integriert. Touristisches Highlight: die beiden verbliebenen Hochöfen. Wer die 180 Stufen zum Hochofen A hinaufsteigt, wird mit einem atemberaubenden Ausblick belohnt. Belval ist heute angesagtes Univiertel. Priscilla, Carlo und Monica bringen Leben in die oftmals fast künstlich wirkende Umgebung. Die Drei im coolem Colour Code BLACK/FLOUR vor roter Wand. Im Geiste formuliere ich einen bekannten Serientitel um: „Drei Engel für Katharina“. 

LUXEMBOURG

PHILINES TRAVEL TIPS

GRAACE HOTEL – Design Boutiquehotel, Bonneweg

INFIIORATA Floristin, Instagram/Infiiorata – zeitgenössische Blumen- und Pflanzen-Installationen

CHICHE! – Soziales Restaurant, Limpertsberg

PANORAMA AUFZUG, Pfaffenthal

VINS FINS – WINE BAR & SHOP, Grund

GRAND THÉÂTRE, Luxembourg Stadt

MUDAM – Museum für moderne Kunst, Kirchberg

CATHY KRIER, Pianistin

CREDITS: PHOTOGRAPHY: Philine von Sell, STYLING: Finja Brügmann, HAIR & MAKE UP
ARTIST: Maili Ngyuen, PRODUCTION: Circle of Values Communication GmbH

Deutsch