Skip to content

Designed For Life & Travel

NAPLES & AMALFI COAST, ITALY

LOOKBOOK SUMMER COLLECTION 2021

“Vedi Neapoli e poi muori” – see Naples and then die – no doubt about it what Goethe wanted to express here: a thrilling city and consummate location for KATHARINA HOVMAN. Our photographer Philine von Sell travelled with her team to Italy and found a gorgeous setting for our cheerfully colourful Summer Collection 2021 there.

TIP: PUT ON HEADPHONES to enjoy this LOOKBOOK ACOUSTICALLY as well:)

...We roam across this pulsing city and its narrow streets, preferably on foot, but we try using the tour bus, too. Everyone warns about the traffic, and things really do seem a bit chaotic on Naple’s roads. On the other hand, anyone who takes on the challenge quickly realises – it’s a cautious chaos. People are attentive towards each other here. Everything flows. Everybody’s relaxed. The times we hear the sound of what’s more like a shyly honking horn are few and far between.

A metro tunnel blazing with colour

Even the underground is a highlight. The #1 Line, the Metrò dell’arte, lets us forget that we’re standing on a draughty metro platform. Renowned sculptors, painters and photographers have created a subterranean art gallery. In the colours of our summer collection! Carlotta, nicknamed Carlo for short, merges with the art on the wall in her outfit – she wears KATHARINA HOVMAN with the self-confident casualness you encounter everywhere in this city. Carlo is a “natural” at this, we discovered her in Düsseldorf. No one would ever think this is the first time she’s standing in front of a camera. By the way, the Linea 1 goes directly to MADRE, a worthwhile destination for fans of contemporary art.

On our second day lovely Priscilla enhances our team. A Roman by birth who has made Argentina her home, she’s a committed woman on a wide variety of fronts. As actress she basks in the footlights not only on theatre stages: one of her acclaimed projects is theatre in prisons. Culture for everyone, no exceptions.

Where colours tell stories

Santa Chiara, the famous church in the city’s old town – the cloister, one of the most beautiful in Campania. And there they are again: the colours! Benches and columns with impressively lovely tilework. Hand-painted. Typical for this region – our eyes can’t get enough of them. Whose aura has more intensity? Carlo and Priscilla’s in the magnificent hues their outfits display, or the benches in the cloister that tell us their stories and invite us to enjoy the cooling silence?

Today, on Day 2, I get Maili in front of my camera, too. Maili comes from Strasbourg and is our hair & make-up artist. She’s already done lots of work for the shows on the truly big-time Parisian catwalks, for instance Lagerfeld and the like. She is simply the best.

PORT & POMPEJI

The port of Naples lies directly outside the old town. The destination for everyone who wants to leave the city by boat. Here is where the SNAV ferries set sail for Capri or Ischia.

And here is where Eleonara, Ele for short, joins up with us. The actress has also made the trip from Rome to Naples and, like all of us, she too is going to enjoy a heretofore unknown pleasure. In September 2020 Pompeii – international tourist mecca, the most frequently visited archaeological site in the world – was deserted, not a soul in sight. We experience this magical place at the foot of Mount Vesuvius in a very special way.

Life on the doorstep

What an atmosphere! And how friendly the people are here! They clap and applaud us, they smile at us, they even invite Carlo and Priscilla into their homes to change clothes. Sniff, look, listen – we experience the Italian way of life with all our senses. The sidewalk is a piece of this “habitat”, a living room on the pavement. How lively life can be, after all! Here in the alleyways you sense the way this city’s pulse beats.

What you equally sense at some point after several kilometres on the rough-hewn cobblestones are your feet. The streets of Naples aren’t made for high heels or pumps. Carlo and Priscilla were pretty glad to have their flat mules from Espadrij – soft and supple. And comfy, even on cobblestones.

Legendary and fancy – Toto Alley

Rione Sanità – one of the city’s oldest neighbourhoods. A much-frequented district with a sinister mafia past. The Camorra has human beings’ lives to answer for here. But the great Toto was born here as well, a hugely popular actor and one of the most famous men on the Italian cultural scene. Books stand on shelves out in public on Toto Alley, and artists, both men and women, have immortalised themselves here. A great deal has been restored with a sensitive touch. A neighbourhood programme, organised by the City of Naples – using culture against the Camorra. Wonderful, creatively designed spaces. Carlo and Priscilla fit into the scenery in their sunny yellow and tomato-red outfits as if we had it built especially for them. Except that when I photograph, there’s nothing contrived about it. I take backdrops and scenery the way they come. It’s lovely here just like it is. Naples is not – as many say – “run-down”. Naples has the patina that comes with age.

COSTIERA AMALFITANA – Wildly romantic

We drive around 40 km south by car. Our destination: the Amalfi Coast. Word has it that the most weddings in the whole world are celebrated here. A wildly romantic spot. Its most famous town: the former fishing village of Positano – today the pearl of the Amalfi Coast, a must for the WHO’S WHO, but the same goes for Instagrammers and bloggers. A town as if painted on canvas. Colourful houses huddle closely to the craggy slopes. Narrow streets, steep stairways. It’s enchanting here, and a little bit old-school decadent as well.

PRAIANO

Barely four kilometres away lies the community of Praiano. Nicer, more relaxed. Less sophisticated, but not as much “commerce”, either. Praiano is a well-kept secret for all those who don’t want to live where everyone lives. The pace is more sedate here. And here too, a breathtaking vista across the sea, aromatic lemons for the famous limoncello liqueur, and the most scrumptious tomatoes in the world.

PHILINE’S TIPS FOR BELLA NAPOLI AND THE AMALFI COAST

NAPOLI

B&B MORISANI GARDEN. If you want to stay in a central, quiet and romantic place in the old town, the best place to stay is with the fantastic host Gabriella.

"METRÒ DELL’ARTE – LINIE 1, TIP: You can also book guided tours for the Metrò dell’arte

MUSEO MADRE – Museum of Contemporary Art, Via Settembrini 79

BASILICA DI SANTA CHIARA, Via Santa Chiara 49/c

RIONE SANITÀ – TOTO GASSE, Via Montesilvano. The Sanità quarter in the Stella district is well known for its small street markets for food and clothing, ice-cream parlours and simple trattorias.

PIZZERIA DA MICHELE FORCELLA - Best & coolest pizza (old town), Via Cesare Sersale 1

ANTIQUES & RETRO FURNITURE Restorer, Via S. Giovanni Maggiore Pignatelli

SNAV – Ferries to CAPRI and ISCIA

POMPEJI – About 25 minutes from Naples by car, bus or train

POSITANO

IL OUMO E IL MARE – Private boat tours, Amalfi Coast

LE TRE SORELLE - direkt an der Promenade

LA CANTINA DE LE TRE SORELLE – Wine bar & shop

PRAIANO

LA CONCHIGLIA HOTEL & RESTAURANT – Tasty, no-frills cuisine (MAMA does the cooking herself), Furore (near Praiano)

TRATTORIA DA ARMANDINO – Sea food right at the peer,, Furore (near Praiano)

RISTORANTE DA ADOLFO DI BELLA SERGIO, (Laurito, Private Beach, between Positano and Praiano) – Swim, chill out and eat simply

CREDITS

MULES from ESPADRIJ

PHOTOGRAPHY: Philine von Sell, STYLING: Finja Brügmann, HAIR & MAKE UP ARTIST: Maili Ngyuen, PRODUCTION: Circle of Values Communication GmbH

Weiter zum Inhalt

DESIGNED FOR LIFE & TRAVEL

NAPOLI & AMALFI COAST, ITALY

LOOKBOOK SUMMER COLLECTION 2021

„Vedi Neapoli e poi muori“ – Neapel sehen und sterben – völlig klar, was Goethe damit sagen wollte: Eine aufregende Stadt und ein perfekter Ort für KATHARINA HOVMAN. Unsere Fotografin Philine von Sell ist mit ihrem Team nach Italien gereist und fand dort eine traumhafte Kulisse für unsere fröhlich bunte Sommerkollektion 2021.

EIN TIPP: KOPFHÖRER AUFSETZEN und den TON AKTIVIEREN, um dieses LOOKBOOK auch AKUSTISCH zu genießen:)

... Vorzugsweise zu Fuß, aber auch mit dem Tourbus bewegen wir uns durch diese pulsierende Stadt und deren schmale Gassen. Alle warnen vor dem Verkehr und in der Tat scheint es ein wenig chaotisch auf Neapels Straßen. Wer sich jedoch drauf einlässt, wird schnell merken – es ist ein achtsames Chaos. Hier passt man aufeinander auf. Alles fließt. Alle sind entspannt. Wir hören nur sehr wenige Male das Geräusch einer eher schüchternen Hupe.  

Farbenpracht im U-Bahnschacht

Sogar die U-Bahn ist ein Highlight. Linie 1, die Metrò dell’arte lässt uns vergessen, dass wir auf einem zugigen Bahnsteig stehen. Namhafte Bildhauer, Maler und Fotografen haben eine unterirdische Kunstgalerie geschaffen. In den Farben unserer Sommerkollektion! Carlotta, genannt Carlo, verschmilzt in Ihrem Outfit mit der Kunst an der Wand – sie trägt KATHARINA HOVMAN mit der selbstbewussten Lässigkeit, die einem in dieser Stadt überall begegnet. Carlo ist ein Naturtalent – wir haben sie in Düsseldorf entdeckt. Niemand würde denken, dass sie zum ersten Mal vor einer Kamera steht. Die Linie 1 fährt übrigens direkt zum MADRE, ein lohnenswertes Ziel für Freunde zeitgenössischer Kunst.

An unserem zweiten Tag verstärkt die schöne Priscilla unser Team. Die Römerin mit argentinischer Wahlheimat ist eine vielseitig engagierte Frau. Als Schauspielerin bespielt sie nicht nur Theaterbühnen – eines ihrer großartigen Projekte: Theater im Gefängnis. Kultur für alle. 

Wo Farben Geschichten erzählen

Santa Chiara, Neapels berühmte Kirche in der Altstadt – ihr Kreuzgang einer der schönsten in Kampanien. Und da sind sie wieder: die Farben! Bänke und Pfeiler mit beeindruckend schönen Kacheln. Handbemalt. Typisch für diese Region. Wir können uns nicht satt sehen. Wer strahlt intensiver? Carlo und Priscilla in den herrlichen Farben ihrer Outfits oder die Bänke im Kreuzgang, die uns ihre Geschichten erzählen und einladen, die kühle Stille zu genießen?

An diesem Tag 2 hole ich auch Maili vor meine Kamera. Maili kommt aus Straßbourg und ist unsere Hair & Make Up Artist. Sie hat schon auf den ganz großen Pariser Laufstegen gearbeitet für Lagerfeld und Co. Sie ist einfach die Beste. 

HAFEN & POMPEJI

Direkt vor der Altstadt liegt der Hafen von Neapel. Ziel aller, die die Stadt per Boot verlassen wollen. Hier starten die Fähren von SNAV nach Capri oder Ischia.

Hier stößt Eleonora, kurz Ele zu uns. Die Schauspielerin hat ebenfalls den Weg von Rom nach Neapel gemacht und kommt, wie wir alle, in einen nie da gewesenen Genuss. Pompeji – internationales Touristenmekka, die meist besuchte archäologische Stätte der Welt – war im September 2020 menschenleer. Wir erleben diesen magischen Ort am Fuße des Vesuvs auf ganz besondere Weise.

Das Leben vor der Tür

Was für eine Atmosphäre! Und wie freundlich die Menschen hier sind! Sie klatschen uns Beifall, sie lachen uns an, ja sie laden Carlo und Priscilla sogar zum Umziehen in ihr Haus ein. Riechen, sehen, hören – wir erleben italienische Lebensart mit allen Sinnen. Das Trottoir ist ein Stück Lebensraum, ein Wohnzimmer auf der Straße. Wie lebendig das Leben doch sein kann! Hier in diesen Gassen spürt man den Pulsschlag dieser Stadt. 

Was man nach einigen Kilometern auf dem groben Kopfsteinpflaster auch irgendwann spürt, sind die Füße. Neapels Straßen sind nicht für High Heels oder Pumps gemacht. Carlo und Priscilla waren ziemlich froh über ihre flachen PANTOLETTAS von ESPADRIJ – weich und anschmiegsam. Und selbst auf Kopfsteinpflaster gemütlich. 

Legendär und fancy – die Toto-Gasse

Rione Sanità – eines der ältesten Stadtviertel der Stadt. Ein Kiez mit dunkler Mafia-Vergangenheit. Hier hat die Camorra Menschenleben auf dem Gewissen. Aber hier wurde auch der große Volksschauspieler Toto geboren, einer der berühmtesten Männer der italienischen Kulturszene. In der Toto-Gasse stehen Bücher in öffentlich zugänglichen Regalen und Künstler*innen haben sich hier verewigt. Vieles wurde sensibel restauriert. Ein Stadtteilprogramm, organisiert von der Stadt Neapel – mit Kultur gegen die Camorra. Wunderbar kreativ gestaltete Flächen – hier fügen sich Carlo und Priscilla in ihren sonnengelben und tomatenroten Outfits in die Szenerie als hätten wir sie eigens für sie aufgebaut.  Aber wenn ich fotografiere, ist niemals irgendetwas gestellt. Ich nehme Kulisse, wie sie kommt. Es ist schön hier, wie es ist. Neapel ist nicht – wie viele sagen – „runtergekommen“. Neapel hat Patina.

COSTIERA AMALFITANA – Wilde Romantik

Mit dem Auto fahren wir etwa 40 km nach Süden. Unser Ziel: die Costiera Amalfitana. Es heißt, hier werden die meisten Hochzeiten auf der ganzen Welt gefeiert. Ein wildromantischer Flecken Erde. Sein berühmtester Ort: das ehemalige Fischerdorf Positano – heute die Perle der Amalfiküste, ein Mekka der WHO is WHO, aber auch der Instagramer und Blogger.  Ein Ort wie gemalt. Bunte Häuser schmiegen sich dicht an die schroffen Hänge. Schmale Gassen, steile Treppen. Zauberhaft ist es hier und dabei ein wenig old school dekadent. 

PRAIANO

Gerade mal vier Kilometer entfernt liegt Praiano. Netter, entspannter. Weniger edel, aber auch weniger Kommerz. Praiano ist ein Geheimtipp für alle, die nicht dort wohnen wollen, wo alle wohnen. Hier geht es beschaulicher zu. Auch hier hat man einen atemberaubenden Blick über das Meer, die aromatischen Zitronen für den berühmten Limoncello und die leckersten Tomaten der Welt.

PHILINES TIPPS FÜR BELLA NAPOLI und die AMALFIKÜSTE

NAPOLI

B&B MORISANI GARDEN. Wer zentral, ruhig und romantisch in der Altstadt übernachten möchte, ist am besten bei der fantastischen Gastgeberin Gabriella aufgehoben.

METRÒ DELL’ARTE – LINIE 1, (man kann auch Führungen buchen)

MUSEO MADRE – Museum für zeitgenössische Kunst, Via Settembrini 79

BASILICA DI SANTA CHIARA, Via Santa Chiara 49/c

RIONE SANITÀ – TOTO GASSE, Via Montesilvano. Das Viertel Sanità
im Stadtteil Stella ist bekannt für seine kleinen Straßenmärkte für
Lebensmittel und Bekleidung, Eisdielen und einfachen Trattorias.

PIZZERIA DA MICHELE FORCELLA - Best & cool Pizza (Altstadt), Via Cesare Sersale 1

ANTIQUITÄTEN & RETROMÖBEL – Restaurator, Via S. Giovanni Maggiore Pignatelli

SNAV – Fähren nach CAPRI und ISCHIA

POMPEJI – ca. 25 Minuten mit Auto, Bus oder Bahn von Neapel

POSITANO

IL OUMO E IL MARE – private Bootstouren Amalfiküste

LE TRE SORELLE - direkt an der Promenade

LA CANTINA DE LE TRE SORELLE – Winebar & Shop

PRAIANO

LA CONCHIGLIA HOTEL & RESTAURANT – schlichte Küche (Mama kocht selbst), Furore (bei Praiano)

TRATTORIA DA ARMANDINO – Sea Food direkt an der Peer, Furore (bei Praiano)

RISTORANTE DA ADOLFO DI BELLA SERGIO, (in Laurito, Private Beach, zwischen Positano und Praiano) – baden, chillen und simpel essen

CREDITS

PANTOLETTAS von ESPADRIJ

PHOTOGRAPHY: Philine von Sell, STYLING: Finja Brügmann, HAIR & MAKE UP ARTIST: Maili Ngyuen, PRODUCTION: Circle of Values Communication GmbH